An Update From Somewhere

Hello. While I am working on my blog post series on introversion, I thought you might like to know that I’m still alive. Or something.

In case you’re just joining me, let me catch you (and maybe me, too) up.

About a month ago I took an internship with the Multinational Exchange for Sustainable Agriculture (MESA) as the Member Resources & Social Media Intern. Yes, this will be my sixth unpaid internship. BUT, I really do think at some point they will get me a real job. Or at least, I hope so. I love the work, I truly do – but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t getting a little old. Ahem.

MESA is located in Berkeley – yep, that’s Bizerkeley, California – and so there I will be for the next 9 months. And that’s where most of the excitement and, well, trouble begins.

After about three weeks of Craiglisting ‘til all hours of the day and night and trying to set up viewing appointments from across the country, it was time to hop on a plane and find a place to live. So last Thursday morning, I did just that. And luckily, I accomplished my mission – I have found a lovely room on a quiet street in a pretty blue house with an incredible view of the Bay. I’ve even smoothed out the mild snag in the rent process. By most accounts, I should be feeling pretty good.

But after being vertical for 30+ hours with about 2 hours of a plane nap to go on, my last day at the best internship ever, a 4 am drive to the airport and a to-do list that doesn’t quit, let me just say…I’m not.

I have one week – one week – to somehow arrange my life in such a way that I can transport it across 2 time zones and land on my feet. I have several blog posts to write, jobs to apply for, suitcases to pack, emails to send, and a dog who scratches on the porch door twenty-two times a day (and only actually goes out about 10 of those times). My parents are on vacation. My brother is in Canada. And I am sitting in my house, somewhere between hysteria and depression, trying to figure out what the hell I’ve gotten myself into.

I have been sleeping. A LOT. And eating some serious chocolate. On top of all of this (and probably because of it), I’m having a serious career identity crisis. More on that later.

I do hope to use this week to get myself back on track and specifically, to write those damn blog posts that never cease to write themselves in my head at 2 in the morning. I have a lot to say.

But right now I’m going to go exercise. If nothing else, it forces me to breathe. I need to do more of that.

I will say this: when I get to the other side of all this, you better bet I’m putting it on my resume. Because if coordinating a successful cross-country move from 3,000 miles away while keeping family, bosses and landlords all happy as possible isn’t a highly marketable skill…then I quit right now.

Leave a Reply

