State of the Blog Address: 2012

[Photo source]

Hello all! Happy 2012.

I decided very purposefully to take a good long break from blogging. Holiday activities were overwhelming, my posts were getting increasingly underwhelming, and I was annoyed by how annoyed I was with the stress I felt to maintain the blog.

Needless to say, I felt a hiatus was appropriate. So I took some time to think about my entire affair with blogging, what about it I like, and why I need/should continue to do it.

The answer to the latter is the easiest: writing is, for me, a very therapeutic process. Having someone to talk things out with is all well and good, but I’ve never really felt like I’m very good when I try to explain or express things in speech. Probably because in writing I can edit to my heart’s content. There’s no delete key on my mouth, unfortunately.

So, that brought me to the real question: what about blogging do I like, and more importantly, how do I keep liking it?

I love the personalize-able features of a blog – everyone’s is different, no matter the topic. It’s a great way to express yourself in this digital age. In fact, it’s almost necessary – I can’t tell you how many articles I’ve read through that list the many, ever-growing reasons why everyone should have a blog, or at least a personal website. In general, I agree – if in twenty years my kid is taking a high school class built around how to get into college with his/her blog, I won’t be surprised one teeny tiny bit. Twenty may even be a bit generous.

It’s just nice to have my own space, emphasis on own. It’s the good kind of responsibility, the kind that makes you feel proud and efficient, and good at something. And it is one place that I can talk about food endlessly and no one can roll their eyes or yawn at me.

But, I have really been struggling to keep up with my internship, my column, and figuring out what my next step is – be it internship, job, or traveling – all the while keeping my blog interesting. Mostly because…my life right now is not interesting. I get up, I work out or I go to the office, I eat, I sleep. In between all those I check job websites obsessively. Like, at least once an hour. It’s a little sad.

What conclusion have I come to? The focus has to go to 3 things: what I know, what I want to know, and what I’m good at. And regarding posts, it’s going to be quality over quantity. We will all benefit more if I focus on writing informal yet interesting articles that actually have depth instead of updating everyday with a picture and sentences like “I had a bagel for breakfast. It was good.” I have a damn degree in English – I might as well put it to use.

Now, about those 3 things. Obviously, food is something I know about and want to know more about. And writing about it is, more or less, something I’m at least passingly good at. Better at it than, say, chopping chives.

You know what I’m really good at? Making lists. In fact, I remember sitting at my desk in 5th grade, making lists upon lists in my Lisa Frank day planner. What those lists were of isn’t that important. So, here is a list of what I want to focus this blog on:

  • Sustainable food. You can call me an idealistic tree-hugging locavore hippie hipster all you want – it’s a really, really, really important topic, and one that I have surprised myself with how passionate about it I am. My internship has taught me so crazy much about the whole world of sustainable food, and I’m trying my damndest to stay in it. Stay tuned.
  • Travel. As you probably know, this blog really started during my semester abroad in Italy, and that’s where my whole food “thing” started. My love outright nerdiness for things like cultural immersion and exploration is very much a part of who I am, and I think it will be difficult, but I’d really like to find a way to make that a part of this blog. I actually have an idea or two, but if you have any or there’s anything you’d like to see, shout it out!
  • Obviously, the overall thesis of this blog is the joy of food – eating, cooking, baking, buying. That can’t change because, well, my dear Mrs. Fisher would be very disappointed in me, and I can’t have that. I also hope to keep this blog as a way to document my really weird life and the crazy things that happen in it, so there will still be rants and ravings about grad school internships, moving, and life in general. A little comic relief is always a good thing.

I’ll add one more thing – this blog does not, nor will it [most likely] in the future, provide any kind of reasonable income for me. I’m completely fine with that. I mean, more power to those who want to monetize the crap out of their site – it takes a lot of courage and energy to do that and it’s great when it works – but that’s not really what blogging is about for me. That does NOT mean I don’t & won’t treat this blog like a job; it just means I won’t drive myself insane over ratings, numbers, or marketing. I do hope to get my own domain eventually but for now, this is working just fine for me.

That concludes my State of the Blog Address: 2012.

I happen to have a seriously kickass post involving frosting, ninjas, and cookies in strange places – stay tuned, my friends. Winking smile

How has your New Year been so far?

tday 11 (6)

One thought on “State of the Blog Address: 2012

  1. Love it. But then, I’m your mother, I have to. But I seriously did love this post. You are so organized, so articulate. When you do find your niche, you will do wonderfully. In the meantime, I’m in awe that you are willing to put “out there” stuff that can be viewed as quite personal and private. But you do it so well, it contributes to all of us. With love and admiration, Mom.

Leave a Reply

