The 7th–10th Day

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, ten lords a-leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming…

If you’re just tuning in, I am doing the 12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Food Memory edition. Each day I will pick a food memory from that number month of this year. I am doubling up because, well, I have 4 jobs and am in charge of cleaning the house, decorating the tree, and baking the cookies, so…let’s get to it.

Day 7: July

salvatores scall limonc (1)

Seven scallops swimming in a limoncello sauce. It works.

I won’t lie to you; July sucked. I won’t go into depth – I already have – but we lost a treasured and beloved family member, and I did not handle it well. And then my plans to go to Italy fell apart. And the rest of sanity followed suit.

But before all this hit the proverbial fan, I hit DC with my mom on our home from Georgia to see the What’s Cooking Uncle Sam? exhibit at the National Archives. This exhibit documented the history of the food industry in America essentially from its conception. As many of you know, I wrote my senior thesis on M.F.K. Fisher’s How to Cook a Wolf and WWII-era American food culture, so anything involving American food history immediately has my attention. When a friend found this exhibit online and showed it to me, I simply had to go. Had to.

You can read the full post here; I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it, but I really, really enjoyed the exhibit. AND I got Queen Elizabeth’s personal scone recipe. #winning.

Day 8: August

sleepy izzy (1)

Yes, I know this picture has nothing to do with maids or milking.

But August really was not about food.

August was all about Izzy. The newest addition to our household, this teeny tiny 2 pound cotton ball was exactly what that ridiculous and stupid summer needed. She is the highlight of my day, and perhaps the thing I am most grateful for this year. And even when she went into an unheard-of heat at 5 1/2 months old and I spent my birthday mopping blood spots out of every material in the house, I love her so very, very much.

Day 9: September

231

[There were plenty more than nine of these cuties, but while I was in India we were invited to watch a children’s traditional dance class – it was lots of fun for dancers & audience alike! Smile]

September – I’m pretty sure it didn’t exist this year. If it did, I think it was only a week long. Seriously, does anyone remember September?

Well, I do remember getting a certain internship with Chefs Collaborative. Probably one of the best decisions of my life. I really love feeling like I’m finally “in” the food world, and it’s been so useful in figuring out viable career paths for me. I’d be lying if I said I had any memories, food-related or otherwise, of September, but…seeing the “you’re in, yay” email in my inbox was pretty exciting. And it just so happens to have led to one of the top food experiences of the year in…

Day 10: October

grilling on the green (10)

Forget ten leaping lords. October was all about the twelve chefs who cooked for Chefs Collaborative’s annual fundraiser, the Grilling on the Green, which I was very active in helping with – mostly by eating as much as possible.

Oh, was that a wonderfully delicious event. It was so fun to go to an event explicitly about the food, and sustainable food at that. And that fennel sausage pizza – well, hot damn.

I linked the hell out of the recap post on it, so check it out if you’d like to see who & what was cooking – and get excited for next year’s!

Only two days left…I think I still have most of my presents to wrap.

Leave a Reply

