The 6th Day

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, six geese a-laying…

apple cinn muffins (4)

Geese a-laying, apple cinnamon muffins…potato, potahto.

Oh what, like you have a picture of half a dozen pregnant geese lying around?

I thought not.

Day 6: June

Well, June was…unique. I quit my first “job” (well, unpaid internship from hell, but “job” for all intents & purposes). My near-annual descent into madness began. And I was living in Atlanta with my aunt, uncle, and 3 crazy but adorable boxers.

Food – well, eating was not exactly very interesting. But I was doing a fair amount of single-gal cooking.

indian chickpea-kale bowl (4)

Actually, cooking for one became my favorite activity. At the time, it felt like the only thing I could have any semblance of control over in my life. I went to the local farmers market, and I experimented with different spice combinations. I pretty much have a degree in lentil cooking from that odd month. Cooking was one thing I could count on; even when a dish didn’t go in the “make again” pile, it was still a small kind of victory, and afforded me the excitement and anticipation of trying new foods.

tofu-lentil curry (1)

When people hear about my interest in food, the first thing they say is, “oh, you must be a great cook!” I firmly deny it – I’m a baker if I’m anything – but perhaps I’m more of a cook than I thought. What is cooking if not looking forward to a meal you designed and prepared all by yourself, anyway?

And let me tell you, that tofu & swiss chard curry was one damn delicious dinner.

Leave a Reply

