A Sparkling Holiday

Thanksgiving is a magical time of year when families across the country join together to raise America’s obesity statistics. Personally, I love Thanksgiving traditions: watching football, making pumpkin pie, and saying the magic phrase that sends your aunt storming out of the dining room to sit in her car.

– Stephen Colbert

I do love Thanksgiving. A holiday that revolves completely around gathering at the table, preparing a menu that seems to be inherently seasonal, and celebrating through food. That’s pretty much my ideal day.

Add Prosecco, and I’m sold.

And so we did! As I mentioned, we recently came into possession of one bottle of each kind of sparkling white wine: a Cava from Spain, a Prosecco from Italy, and a champagne from France. It seemed so perfect, we decided we simply had to have a blind taste test – and what better time than Thanksgiving, when there are enough people to drink 3 bottles of wine at once? Answer: none. (A Friday night in college SO does not count.)

Let the recap begin.

Bottle #1:

IMG_4283

Not super bubbly, very grapey at first but mellowed after opening for a couple minutes & became one of the nicest.

Bottle #2:

IMG_4285

This one felt like there were a million teeny tiny bubbles, with a crisper flavor. My favorite by a while, but I tend to think in a “bubblier = better” mindset with any beverage.

Bottle #3:

IMG_4289

This one was everyone else’s favorite – the bubbles seemed “just right” (rather a la Goldilocks), and the flavor was more…mature? I don’t know quite how to describe it. It ended up being my least favorite, but everyone else’s top.

So, any guesses? I’ll give you a minute to review. In the meantime, drool over our little amuse bouche:

IMG_4284

Figs stuffed with gorgonzola dolce + walnut. I’m not usually a big bleu cheese fan but hot damn this was good cheese. You must try it. Get thee to Whole Foods STAT.

Ok, ready?

Bottle #1: Champagne

Bottle #2: Prosecco

Bottle #3: Cava

I was not surprised in the least that the Prosecco was my fave. It was pretty much love at first aperitivo with that one, and I’ve never looked back. The Champagne vs. Cava surprised everyone – especially the champagne – but after it opened up, it was really lovely and much more champagne-y.

The meal was pretty traditional after that – my personal favorite? The stuffing. Oh, the stuffing. I think that is the only dish that actually makes me enjoy celery. I don’t mind it cooked in soups, I can’t really stand the stringyness raw – but in sausage stuffing it is such an oddly welcome addition. I have no idea why. Really, I could eat just stuffing, my mom’s sweet potatoes and a pumpkin dessert and be done with it.

And as for that particular pumpkin dessert…

IMG_4271

I’ll tell you all about that tomorrow. I suggest you save room.

How was your Thanksgiving?

One thought on “A Sparkling Holiday

  1. Pingback: The 11th & 12th Days « When Bread is Broken

Leave a Reply

