A Menu To Celebrate

Thanksgiving, man. Not a good day to be my pants.

-Kevin James

I don’t have a recipe for you – yet. I do have an incredible-looking menu for which I am salivating in anticipation.

Menu browsing is not-so-secretly one of my favorite pastimes ever. I’ve been known to sit for hours looking at and comparing the menus of different restaurants. So, in lieu of more recipes that you won’t make anyway because your menu is set in stone, here is my Thanksgiving menu. Let the drooling commence.

To start…

We recently found ourselves with one bottle of each classic type of sparkling white wine due to a few wonderful coincidences, so my mom had the idea to have a blind taste test of each bottle from the 3 main winemaking European countries to begin the meal. A true stroke of genius, I say. I will, of course, report the results!

A Sparkling Wine Blind Taste Test

  • Cava (Spain)
  • Champagne (France)
  • Prosecco (Italy) <—- my anticipated favorite (duh)

Paired with

  • Spiced & glazed nuts
  • Figs stuffed with gorgonzola dolce and walnuts
  • Shrimp cocktail

To feast…

  • The bird
  • Our hostess’s mother’s stuffing
  • Whipped potatoes
  • Sweet Potato Casserole with Bourbon Praline Pecan topping (my Southern mother’s recipe)
  • Lemon French green beans
  • Homemade cranberry bread
  • Pumpkin-seed-studded corn bread (made by yours truly Winking smile )

To finish…

  • Sour Cherry Pie
  • Pumpkin Tiramisu (mine as well)

6 people. 1 meal. Let’s do this.

What’s on your menu tomorrow?

1st prosecco

7 thoughts on “A Menu To Celebrate

  1. My menu tomorrow: Mimosas for cooking time, then wine for the meal with turkey breast, pumpkin polenta, cornbread, brussels sprouts, mashed taters and from-scratch buttermilk apple pie. NOMS.

    Happy Thanksgiving, lady! Miss you.

  2. Pingback: The 11th & 12th Days « When Bread is Broken

Leave a Reply

