Bake It Away

I am very sorry that you have had to witness Gillian’s Stress Fest 2011.

But I have a way to make it up to you. Chocolate is involved.

guilty as charged (9)

I thought that might get your attention.

I tend to try to bake my stress away. That may or may not explain the two batches of brownies and dozen muffins currently lurking in our freezer. Whether or not it works, I can’t be sure – but you can bet I’m not thinking about all those emails I have to write when I’m busy measuring out flour and considering what the addition of cinnamon would taste like in that cookie. I’m not much for multitasking.

These brownies are made extra stress-free by the addition of butterscotch chips, because I happened to have them and need to find ways of using them up other than pouring the bag straight in my mouth.

I like to eat these warm with a healthy dollop of whipped cream on top. They are cakier than your average brownie, but the intensity of the dark chocolate counteracts it. Make these because they will probably make you happy. I’m not much for gambling, but when it comes to chocolate, I can quite confidently with my gut.

IMG_4092

Dark Chocolate-Butterscotch Brownies

adapted from Mama Pea’s brownies from Peas and Thank You

Serves 12

You will need:

  • 3/4 c. whole wheat pastry or all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 c. Hershey’s Extra Dark unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 t espresso powder (optional…but not really.)
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 – 1/2 t sea salt
  • 1/2 c. pumpkin
  • 1/2 c. nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 c. butterscotch chips + 1/4 c. vegan chocolate chips*

*I use vegan chocolate chips because I think they taste richer and more chocolatey. Even my burger-loving brother eats them happily. I recommend them – a lot.

Preheat to 350.

In a medium-large bowl, mix the flour, cocoa powder, espresso, baking powder & soda, and salt.

In another smaller bowl, mix the pumpkin, yogurt, sugar and vanilla. And no, your brownies will not explode in the oven if you mix it all in one bowl; all those recipes recommend you do this so that the baking soda/powder will mix in evenly throughout the flour and you will have to mix less – gluten forms when you mix flour with wet ingredients, and you want as little of that happening as possible (unless you enjoy eating rocks masquerading as brownies. personal choice.). See. I know things.

Ahem.

Add wet to dry. Fold in chips (they don’t have to be measured exactly; I just eyeballed equal portions and poured them into a half-cup.).

Bake for 21-24 minutes.

See if you can get a picture of one before they all disappear and send it to me. I was not so lucky.

IMG_4096

One thought on “Bake It Away

  1. Pingback: To Italy, Or Not To Italy « When Bread is Broken

Leave a Reply

