The BIG Move: Part II

From this…

to this:

From this…

To this:

And this:

To this:

We have arrived.

During my freshman year, it was announced that my class – 2011, holla! – would be the first senior class to live in the senior apartments. If there was no other reason to stay, this was it (but there were plenty others – I ❀ my college!).

Ready for the grand tour??

 

My room looks out at that fountain. I will never need one of those “gentle sound-making machines” – I have the real thing!

 

Welcome to our house!

First things first:

Please meet Otis, the house plant. He says hello. (He gets whiney when he’s not introduced to the guests.)

The living room, where one of my roommates got another one and me addicted to Alias. We’ve almost watched the entire first season in 2 days. It’s a problem.

The kitchen – obviously, my favorite part. And yes, that apron hanging in the corner is mine.

Now walk with me down the hall…

To my room πŸ™‚

Desk,

Closet,

And a view. Not too shabby, no?

Of course, the necessities:

Bathroom – note the 2 sinks. I have never, ever, EVER had my own sink. After about a week, I highly recommend it.

The amazing hotel-like shower that I have used every night. Because I can.

I promise a more in depth tour of the kitchen is to come! But now, let’s get to the good stuff: food.

The inaugural bowl of oats:

Espresso-spiked chocolate banana scottish oats. Oh yes.

1/4 c. scottish oats

3/4 c. almond milk

1 T cocoa

1/4-1/2 tsp. instant espresso

dash of sea salt

1 banana, sliced

Espresso really brings out the richness of the cocoa – I use it in ever chocolate thing I bake! But for the love of all things caffeinated, do not drink instant espresso. That is just not what it’s for.

My first apartment-cooked meal involved one of my bulk bin purchases from Whole Foods:

French lentils. Aren’t they pretty?!

A quarter cup of those into a pot with:

About 1/3 of a zucchini, half of a carrot, some white onion, and

a cup of frozen kale. Add some sea salt, pepper, and herbes de provence, and bam!

Lentil stew with a side of whole grain toast. So blissfully far from the limp salad I ate daily in the dining hall, I could cry with happiness.

I am slowly gathering all my necessary baking supplies together. My reusable silicon cupcake lines arrived in the mail today.

Time to go preheat the oven. It. is. ON.

6 thoughts on “The BIG Move: Part II

  1. Hi Gillian,
    congrats on the move to your very first apartment! Looks great!
    Just be careful with that Alias-addiction – it can seriously mess up your schedule…
    Luckily it got me and Markus right AFTER my Graduation in 2003, but we really couldn’t stop watching it (even though it’s getting more and more silly after a couple of seasons…)
    Have fun in your new kitchen!
    Tina

    • My poor roommate just left today for Jordan, she has to wait a whole 2 weeks before continuing with season 2.
      Thanks Tina!! Your twins are adorable, I love all the pictures!! πŸ˜€

  2. Dang, I had to move off campus to get this. Gorgeous apartments. This will really make that last semester fly by -and leave sense of longing for what is over when you are living in Atlanta!

  3. Pingback: Day 2 « When Bread is Broken

Leave a Reply

