Blogging 101: Why Bother

I have no idea if this is going to be a new segment of my blog. And that, it turns out, is the perfect way to start this post.

There are a LOT of food blogs out there. Like, a lot. Click here and prepare to be overwhelmed. You will probably become distracted by one of the many beautiful pictures of brownies or bread and click on it. I will wait.

……

Did you bookmark that page? Good, me too.

On with the class. Food blogs – that is about as broad a category is as the cookbook section in Barnes & Noble. Healthy lifestyle blogs, raw food, vegans – both veteran and newbies, vegetarian, bakers, eaters, writers, moms, dads, college kids…the list goes on. And within those slight more specific genres are thousands of writers, telling their own individual story.

So to those of us relatively new foodies who are struggling to find our own personal way of standing out from the ranks of our fellow bloggers, it’s a rather intimidating task. I had it good for the beginning of mine – a student studying abroad in Florence, Italy??? Um, yeah, I would call that blog-worthy. A student studying in South Carolina who lives on protein bars and yogurt…maybe not so much.

I went from this...

to lots and lots and lots of these. I'm sorry, change is not always good.

But, as I struggle to find that perfect niche, I will continue blogging about all things edible. Because it’s fun, because I live it, and because I will change. Interning at a restaurant this summer is sure to bring up some fun topics, and going to culinary school for baking & pastry is sure to hold plenty of bloggable material.

Let’s return to the question of the day: why bother blogging if the chances that someone else in a strikingly similar situation to you already is, and is doing so as a full-time career, getting millions of hits on their page everyday and has hundreds of loyal followers?

Maybe because everyone is unique and has their own voice. Maybe because food is just that important to us, and writing is an outlet for expressing that value. Or maybe it’s just that you have that perfect combination of brand new saute pan and serious cajones that drives you on. More power to you.

 

@ ReVision Urban Farm in Boston, MA.

All this to say, hi. I’m Gillian, and I really like food. Especially the types that involve carbs. I live in a dorm at the moment, but in a couple weeks me and 3 of my friends are moving into the brand-spankin’ new apartments for the last spring semester of our college career. I will finally be able to cease subsisting on over-processed foods and the slightly edible substances served by the cafeteria and cook for myself. In between now and that blissful day, my roommate and I are flying out to California, her to audition for an internship and me to check out the Culinary Institute of America at Greystone in St. Helena – camera and netbook in tow, of course!

 

CIA Greystone...future?

Clearly, I have convinced you to stay tuned. By Jedi mind trick if nothing else.

Now click back to Tastespotting. I know that picture of homemade cinnamon marshmallows is calling you.

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Why Bother

  1. Pingback: A Beautiful Blur « When Bread is Broken

Leave a Reply

